May 11, 2007

  • More Changes, You Say?!

    My life keeps changing dramatically. At this point in time, I do not know where my life is headed. I am kind of unsure of what I will end up doing for the rest of my life, as I have changed my major a third time – and this time, it is not animal-related. Well, I guess eventually it could be, but I might as well face the facts now: I am a lot better at something else besides veterinary medicine. My grades were not cutting it, and rather than torture myself, I have “discovered” something else I can make a living with that will make me equally as happy, maybe even more so. I know some people who read this might already know what I’m talking about, after years of knowing me and reading even some of things that have not made it onto my weblog. Yes, I am switching my major to Journalism.


    I do not know where this degree will lead me, but I am actually moving back home to my parent’s at the end of July. I never wanted to move back in with them, but it’s inevitable. I had no live real physical support down in Lafayette, so it is back to my hometown once more. I am hoping to only stay there for a year and then find someplace to live in the area on my own. Something I can pay for on my own, or with someone else. I have no clue where my life is leading me, but this feels right.


    I have missed writing. I did it a lot in high school, a lot in my beginning college years, and after a while, it sort of just dwindled down to nothing. I may have lacked inspiration or drive, but I just know that writing makes me happy. Having the ability to tend to my feelings and emotions with words, to master the art of surprise or unexpectation, it’s a gift beyond all measures. Whether I end up writing articles for a newspaper, or a magazine, or freelancing my work, or being a novelist – I don’t know. It will all come in time.


    I have become an excellent typer for something…


    -Kate


    By the way, I am still looking for a new place to start a new blog. If anyone has ANY suggestions (besides Blogger, LiveJournal, etc.) I would greatly appreciate it. I would like something user-friendly, where it has the ability for anyone to leave a comment, and where I can customize my page INTENSELY. I want it to be my own. My little corner of the webiverse.

Comments (4)

  • I hope everything works out the way that you want it to!

  • Wow, that is a huge change… Good luck on whatever you decide to do. Are you taking a year off school? I’ve had several subscribers move to Blogger and it looks really neat. I do have a livejournal and only use it for the groups though…hate the format. Anyway let me know your new blog address and I definitely keep reading. : )

  • Yay!!!  That sounds like a good plan for you.  You’ve always been a master of words ma’am.  Also, you may want to check out Gather.com.  I don’t think you can customize real heavily, but it’s a great sight for getting your thoughts out there.  I’m on there now more frequently than here.

    Wishing you all the best!

    Michelle

  • journalism can be the greatest of professions. Never pays well (except TV which isn’t journalism to me most of the time), but it can do a lot of good.

    Try blogspot/blogger, simple, easy, open. Not much of a community, but Google finds it all (since they own it).

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *